CONCACAF national teams learn paths on road to Qatar 2022

Concacaf national teams now know their route to the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ following the draw for the qualifying competition, held today at the Home of FIFA.

Draw results:

Group A: El Salvador, Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada, Montserrat, US Virgin Islands
Group B: Canada, Suriname, Bermuda, Cayman Islands, Aruba
Group C: Curaçao, Guatemala, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Cuba, British Virgin Islands
Group D: Panama, Dominican Republic, Barbados, Dominica, Anguilla
Group E: Haiti, Nicaragua, Belize, St. Lucia, Turks and Caicos Islands
Group F: Trinidad and Tobago, St. Kitts and Nevis, Guyana, Puerto Rico, Bahamas

The first round will be played in a single round-robin format, meaning each team will play four matches: two home and two away.

During the second round, the six group winners from the first round will face off in a home-and-away elimination format in three predetermined pairings: winner of group A vs F, winner of B vs E and winner of C vs D. The winners of each tie will proceed to the final round.

The final round will see the three winners from the second round join the five highest-ranked Concacaf teams according to the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking of 16 July 2020: Mexico, USA, Costa Rica, Jamaica and Honduras. The eight teams will play each other in a home-and-away round-robin format as follows:

*Matchday 1:

Winner of B vs E – Honduras
Winner of A vs F – USA
Winner of C vs D – Costa Rica
Mexico – Jamaica

*For additional information on the final round please see the draw procedures. 

The top three teams will qualify directly for the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™. The fourth-placed team will represent Concacaf in the FIFA intercontinental play-off.